

Minutes | AIBC Council

Date/Time:	June 7, 2022 / 11:04 a.m. to 11:50 a.m.
Location:	Videoconference
Presiding:	Rothnie
In Attendance	: Abri, Azizi, Bass, Brink, Deal, Foit, Guiry, Halverson, Laquinte Francis, McLean, Rettie, Rodrigues, Rupp, Scott
Regrets:	
Staff:	Lutes, Morris, Torres, Tough, Vernon, Woff
Item # D	etail

1.0 Welcome and Call to Order

Rothnie called the meeting to order and welcomed returning and new council members.

2.0 Acceptance of the Agenda

MOTION: That council accepts the agenda with the addition of item 8.1.

Brink/ Rodrigues

CARRIED

3.0 Officers

3.1 Elections

Rothnie requested that a council member volunteer to conduct the voting in accordance with Council Rules 1 Appendix rule 2.3.1. Heather Deal volunteered.

3.1.1 President (council member)

The following nomination was made:

For President: Stuart Rothnie (Moved by Rodrigues / Seconded by Laquinte Francis)

No further nominations. Elected by acclamation.

- 3.1.3 Vice President (council member)
- The following nomination was made:

For Vice-President: Marguerite Laquinte Francis (Moved by Rothnie / Seconded by Brink)

No further nominations. Elected by acclamation.

3.1.4 Treasurer (council member)

The following nomination was made:

For Treasurer: Sean Rodrigues (Moved by McLean / Seconded by Laquinte Francis)

No further nominations. Elected by acclamation.

3.2 Appointment of Registrar (architect)

The following appointment nomination was made:

For Registrar: John Scott Architect AIBC (Moved by Rodrigues / Seconded by Rettie)

No further nominations. Appointed by acclamation.

4.0 Appointments to the Registration Board

MOTION #1: That council appoints the member of council John Scott Architect AIBC to the Registration Board.

MOTION #2: That council reappoints the following continuing members to the Registration Board:

- Gordon Richards Architect AIBC
- Stefan Aepli Architect AIBC
- Russell Hollingsworth Architect AIBC
- Baldwin Hum Architect AIBC
- Susanne Hunter Architect AIBC
- Greg Johnson Architect AIBC P Eng UBC SALA
- Mary McMains Architect AIBC
- Patrick Schilling Architect AIBC

Rodrigues / McLean

5.0 Invitation to Council Liaison: Immediate Past President

MOTION: That council invites Immediate Past-President Ian McDonald Architect AIBC to be an invited guest to council meetings, effective June 7, 2022 and in accordance with policy 2.23 Role of the Council Liaisons and the Registrar.

Deal / Laquinte Francis

CARRIED

CARRIED

6.0 Council Committees

Vernon indicated that, by way of the preceding officer election, a portion of the memberships of council's three standing committees are now formed. Council is requested to review the committee terms of reference for standing and discretionary committees and consider which committee they may wish to be on. The topic will next be discussed at the upcoming council planning retreat.

7.0 Council Meeting Schedule - Survey Results

Vernon reviewed the results of the council survey conducted in March 2022 regarding council's meeting schedule preferences, as the transition to the *Professional Governance Act* in late 2022 provides an opportunity to revisit the meeting frequency. Council determined that beginning with the current council term, council meetings would be reduced from six (as required in the *Architects Act*) to four, and with four planning sessions. Council also determined that meetings would be held 'online' only, and planning sessions would be held preferably in person with online accommodated as needed.

8.0 New Business

8.1 Council Planning Retreat

Vernon indicated that the agenda for the upcoming retreat would be sent by the end of the week and will include a requirement for some advanced preparation.

9.0 Adjournment

MOTION to adjourn. (11:50 a.m.)

Brink / Laquinte Francis

CARRIED